Running Fuel

Options
I am new to running. I am starting to run longer distances (up to 5 miles now, so not like a marathon, but longer than I've ever run).

How do you fuel yourself pre and post run?

I have been running mostly in the evening so I have dinner then run...but then I am SO HUNGRY again at like midnight but need to sleep at 10.

Honestly, I suck at dealing with food as it is so trying to find the right kind of and right amount of food and when to eat it isn't simple for me.

I would love to hear YOUR routine, bonus points for how far you run.

Replies

• vespiquenn
    vespiquenn Posts: 1,455 Member
    edited February 2017
    Options
    I'm weird in that I prefer running after eating a larger meal about an hour or two before, but this is not the norm.

Things like bananas, toast with peanut butter, nuts, etc are typically good choices.

If I'm running longer than an hour, I try to bring something like a GU gel or some gummy chews to keep me going. I ran 8 miles this past Friday and significantly could tell the difference that I had nothing around mile 6. Last two miles I was a bit more fatigued.

After a run, I'm also weird that I am not hungry. So I typically drink a protein shake and eat and hour or two later.

A lot of it is trial and error though for what works for you.
  • bmarie0408
    bmarie0408 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    If it's not longer than 45min to an hour, I don't eat anything - I prefer to run first thing in the morning. On my long run days (9-11 miles), I'll have an egg, toast and almond butter 2-3 hours before I run and I'll have a GU gel after an hour.
  • MaintainCats
    MaintainCats Posts: 222 Member
    Options
    vespiquenn wrote: »
    I'm weird in that I prefer running after eating a larger meal about an hour or two before, but this is not the norm.

Things like bananas, toast with peanut butter, nuts, etc are typically good choices.