Gym work getting stale

Options
I've been hitting the gym fairly regularly for about 5 months now and while I've managed to lose a fair amount of weight so far, every additional kilo seems to be getting harder to shift. I've still got a lot to go so really want to kick start things.

My gym work is 30 mins of cardio (usually cross trainer - running is out due to knee problems) followed by another 30 minutes of resistance. The resistance will usually consist of mid-intensity work on machines (legs, chest arms etc) or body weight with either a swiss ball or using the TRX. While this has seemed to work so far I feel I'm not getting the most out of my time in the gym and could do much more. I'd also like to incorporate some other exercises / equipment like kettlebells or medicine ball to mix things up. The trouble is that I don't really know where to start with these!

Does anyone have any advice or resources for how to mix things up a bit and ensure I get the most out of my workout?

Thanks!

Replies

• erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    I've been hitting the gym fairly regularly for about 5 months now and while I've managed to lose a fair amount of weight so far, every additional kilo seems to be getting harder to shift. I've still got a lot to go so really want to kick start things.

My gym work is 30 mins of cardio (usually cross trainer - running is out due to knee problems) followed by another 30 minutes of resistance. The resistance will usually consist of mid-intensity work on machines (legs, chest arms etc) or body weight with either a swiss ball or using the TRX. While this has seemed to work so far I feel I'm not getting the most out of my time in the gym and could do much more. I'd also like to incorporate some other exercises / equipment like kettlebells or medicine ball to mix things up. The trouble is that I don't really know where to start with these!