YMCA- classes. Oh boy.

Options
I signed up for the YMCA a month ago.. I signed up for their classes and have yet to go! I feel like I would be judged because I am new to the gym world and I feel like I may not be coordinated enough. Has anyone else done classes with the ymca as a beginner? I hope I one day to overcome my fear!

Replies

• CantonRC
    CantonRC Posts: 34 Member
    Options
    I have been a member at the YMCA for over 20 years and have done a lot of classes. Just go and do a class. Everyone is a beginner at some point you'll be fine ☺
  • katharmonic
    katharmonic Posts: 5,720 Member
    Options
    The YMCA is perfect for beginners and people of all ages, sizes, fitness levels. Don't worry, you'll be in good company. Go and have fun.
  • cessi0909
    cessi0909 Posts: 654 Member
    Options
    I joined our rec center in mid-Jan and just started going. There are ALL sorts of fitness levels in each of the classes I have gone to and I wouldn't worry about being embarrassed. Just go! :)
  • A_Rene86
    A_Rene86 Posts: 141 Member
    Options
    I've been a member at the YMCA for several years, but even when I was just beginning, I never felt out of place. My (at the time) 80 year old grandmother used to come to certain classes with me and she was just fine! You look quite a bit younger than 80 lol, so I'm sure you'll do great :)
  • jenniferleahwilson402017
    Options
    I just started yoga and water tabata at the y it us great no one judges and I'm hooked now :-)
  • jpena412
    jpena412 Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    Totally agree that the YMCA is a great place for individuals of all fitness levels, experience, sizes, etc. Just force yourself one day to put on those workout shoes and go. I'm sure you will be so grateful after. Any besides, who cares what anyone else thinks? You're in it for you, not them! Good luck
  • tabletop_joe
    tabletop_joe Posts: 455 Member
    Options