Walking for Weight Loss??

Options
Hello all :)

When I was younger, I used to run a lot and go to the gym to stay in shape. Now that I'm older (and heavier!) I don't feel as confident, so I've been walking 3-5 mikes a day. Is this enough cardio to help with my weight loss? I always try to stay under my calorie goal for the day. Thanks for the help :)

Replies

• seska422
    seska422 Posts: 3,217 Member
    Options
    The important part for weight loss is that you consume fewer calories than your body uses. How you get there - reduced calorie consumption, increased calorie output, or a combo of both - is up to you.
  • BrookeNicole888
    BrookeNicole888 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    seska422 wrote: »
    The important part for weight loss is that you consume fewer calories than your body uses. How you get there - reduced calorie consumption, increased calorie output, or a combo of both - is up to you.

Ok great! Thank you! :smile:
    I'm a newbie and just want to make sure I'm doing this right!
  • middlehaitch
    middlehaitch Posts: 8,483 Member
    Options
    @seska422 has got it correct. A calorie deficit is all one needs to lose weight.

Do keep walking though, and don't forget to log and eat back your exercise calories. A 3-5mile walk may not burn a lot of calories, but accounting for them now will help if you have to stop your walks, or decide to up your activity.

Cheers, h.
  • BrookeNicole888
    BrookeNicole888 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    Thank you so much everyone!! <3
  • StaciMarie1974
    StaciMarie1974 Posts: 4,138 Member
    Options

When I was younger, I used to run a lot and go to the gym to stay in shape. Now that I'm older (and heavier!) I don't feel as confident, so I've been walking 3-5 mikes a day. Is this enough cardio to help with my weight loss? I always try to stay under my calorie goal for the day. Thanks for the help :)