Blue collar lunch ideas

Options
TJ_Slade
TJ_Slade Posts: 22 Member
I'm an HVAC tech, so my lunch options are either buying lunch out (which helped me get to where I am now) or brown bag it.

Looking for some unique lunch ideas that don't require access to a microwave, refrigerator, etc. Something to break the monotony of sandwiches.

Thanks.

Replies

• rugratz2015
    rugratz2015 Posts: 593 Member
    Options
    Salads, which can be bought ready to eat. Bring a wrap/slimbo and you can make a sandwich to 'bump' it out. John west pouches with fish and rice, the pouches with quinoa and bulgar wheat. Popcorn. I buy the snack packs of raisins/biscuit/chocolate/dried fruit they're handy to keep in the car. Multipacks of individually wrapped bars/biscuits so that I know the calorie count quickly. Porridge/oats mixed with yogurt and fruit. Have celery/carrots to snack on.
  • zdyb23456
    zdyb23456 Posts: 1,706 Member
    Options
    Try different kinds of sandwiches? I'll send pb&j, for a treat I'll add marshmallow fluff, standard turkey, or salami (hubby's favorite). I've also done ham and cheese biscuit sandwiches. I'll dress up the boring turkey with lettuce and onion (tomatoes make it soggy). You could do egg salad, tuna salad, I've even seen recipes for ham salad. Sandwich variations are endless.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    Honestly, when I worked landscape construction, a sandwich was about the easiest thing...I'd work a pretty wide variety of sandwiches into the mix. I always had a small cooler and would just put one of those frozen packs in there. If it was a meat sandwich of some kind I always kept the lettuce/tomato/etc separate until I was ready to put the sandwich together.

My lunch was usually a sandwich or two...a couple pieces of fruit...and I worked in the heat most of the time so a pickle for some salt and usually potato chips too. I also usually had some trail mix with me...and sometimes jerky.
  • dm5859