Harder to lose as an experienced-ish runner?

Options
Hi all,

My 1st post! I will try to keep it brief.

I have been running on and off for years, in the last year have really stuck with it. Run around 25 miles per week, gradually increasing this. My long run is 10 miles or so, got a half mara in Sept. So, I feel like I am pretty fit, my friends are impressed with my dedication! BUT...

I weigh 185 pounds, 5'5", female. Always been on the large side, highest weight 213 5 years ago. My new years resolution this year was to lose 3 stone (42 pounds), sadly so far only managed 15 pounds. I've been plateauing for about 3 months!!!

Does anyone think that as running is my only real exercise, although I do walk everyday also, it just isn't pushing my body as I am too used to it? I love running and dont do it just to lose weight so I would not give it up. Time and money are limited for other forms of exercise but maybe that's the answer!

For more info, I tried MFP's lose 1lb per week setting but it wasnt quite enough food on rest days and too much on run days! So I worked out my BMR and multiplied it by 1.55 for moderate exercise 3-5 times per week, which was just over 2500 cals. So I eat 2000 per day to aim to lose 1lb a week, though I must confess to going over a few times a month!! But doubt I'm eating too little, or am I?

Sorry for rambling, any help or advice is much appreciated!
Sarah

Replies

• Missylydia
    Missylydia Posts: 304 Member
    Options
    It's good to cross train, not just do 1 type of training as your muscles and body do get used to what you're doing, Also, throw in some strength training, grab those weights! The more toned your muscles are, the more fat they burn, doing nothing! How cool is that!?

Love your dedication btw, you are doing great!
  • TashaP2011
    TashaP2011 Posts: 142 Member
    Options