Women who did strength training while losing weight

Options
Hi everyone I have 20ish pounds to lose to get myself back to normal. I usually weigh between 120-125lbs but gained some weight after having a rough time and currently weigh 145lbs and feeling pretty ashamed of myself!

I would be interested to see progress pictures of women who have lost weight while strength training, so if anybody would like to share that would be great! Any tips would also be great. I'm currently in the gym doing cardio every day, and trying to learn different strength training excercises.

Hope I've posted this in the right place! Forgot to say I'm 24 and 5'4.

Thanks

Replies

• happysherri
    happysherri Posts: 1,360 Member
    Options
    I love lifting weights. I am no pro but I have gained muscle and am trying to slim just a tiny bit more. My advice would be to find a program that works for you and try it. Trial and error is what getting fit is about, right? I currently use bodybuilding.com free app, they have 100s of programs for different goals for women and men. The program shows you exactly what to do which day. There are videos to show you how to properly execute the move and suggests how many reps.

Losing weight is just eating at a deficit. I have been splurging a bit on the weekends, so my weight loss has been slow. But I own that because it's my splurging. :wink:
  • chispaza
    chispaza Posts: 153 Member
    Options
    I just happened to do a collage today of my progress while strength training...

Tip - get on a proven progressive lifting program. My vote is always Stronglifts 5X5, but you can find many choices here:

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10332083/which-lifting-program-is-the-best-for-you/p1

Progress photo: approximately 16 months between photos. 187 lbs to 171 lbs. ~17% body fat in the second.
    dqfd4dgw3zlo.jpg