Should you take days off from exercise?

Options
I was just wondering, should you exercise 7 days a week? Or should you have a rest day? Or should you do hard cardio 6 days a week and just walk on the 7th? What do you do??

Replies

• leilani♥
    leilani♥ Posts: 579
    Options
    I do hard cardio 7 days a week. I am new to diet & exercise so I may be doing this wrong. Good topic!
  • Pink_turnip
    Pink_turnip Posts: 280 Member
    Options
    rest is important so your muscles have time to recover. When you exercise, it 'breaks down' your muscles, and you need to rest for them 're-build'.
  • babyblake11
    babyblake11 Posts: 1,107 Member
    Options
    i have 6 days a week where i will always exercise. then on sunday ill just go for a walk by choice because i never get the chance too. i think either have 1 day off or one day where you will tone it down and do some light enjoyable exercise.
  • PSUgrl921
    PSUgrl921 Posts: 368 Member
    Options
    I take it easy at least once a week. For example, today was my easy day this week. I did go to the gym and did an easy half hour on the elliptical. Usually I walk on my easy days but it's just too hot outside and I don't like the treadmill. In my opinion rest days are a good idea. I take them when I feel like my body is telilng me too. Today when I woke up I just felt exhausted. Some people, however, work out 7 days a week and are fine.

I'm a strong believer in the "listen to your body" approach.

Nicole
  • sc1572
    sc1572 Posts: 2,309 Member
    Options
    I try to do cardio everyday, but switch it up. My normal routine while home from school during the summer is four days of treadmill/elliptical and weights, two spinning/cycling classes a week, and one Body Combat class a week. If I have time, I also combine yoga in. :)
  • BethlovesRene
    BethlovesRene Posts: 85 Member
    Options
    I was told the same thing- that you should rest at least 1 day per week. Curious to see what others thoughts are....