Trail runners- Some questions.

Options
Hi all.
So, I am now head over heels in love with trail running. I live in Virginia near the Chesapeake and ,as every summer, we will be having days of >90% humidity and millions upon millions of mosquitos. Some questions for you:

1.) What sunscreen do you recommend? I have had skin cancer so this is important to me.
2.) What bug spray/lotions/potions do you use to keep the mosquitoes and ticks away?
3.) The trail I run is along a marshy area. I'm ashamed to admit it, but I am really freaked out at the possibility of running into a snake. That's silly, right?
Yeah, I thought so.
4.) I would dearly appreciate any tips you guys have! I'm sure there are things I'm not prepared for simply because I'm a novice.

Thanks in advance

Replies

• JetJaguar
    JetJaguar Posts: 801 Member
    edited April 2017
    Options
    I'm a Florida mountain biker, not a trail runner, but as I ride in a steamy tropical jungle I think I can help with a few of these.

1) Bullfrog Marathon Mist is my favorite. It goes on with a bit of a tacky feel, but it's very sweat-resistant and lasts a long time.

2) I use Deep Woods Off Dry to take care of mosquitoes. However, few repellents are effective against ticks. For them, the best I've found is using permethrin repellent that you spray onto clothing ahead of time. You let it dry before wearing, and it's good for about a month and a half, even through washings.

3) I've come across many snakes, including the time I put my foot down and brushed the nose of a pygmy rattlesnake. They're scared of you too and will try to escape before biting. As long as you don't mess with them, you'll be fine.
  • RUN_LIFT_EAT_
    RUN_LIFT_EAT_ Posts: 86 Member
    Options
    My trails here in AZ are usually devoid of mosquitos and ticks, so I can't help you there. As far as sunscreen, I use a spray-on sports type. I'm darker skinned, and don't burn as easily, so you'll want to find an SPF more suitable to you.