running cross country & swim

Options
so i am planning to run cross country this season as a way to slim down. will cross country really help me slim down? im a bit chubby at 175cm and 155 lbs and trying to lose fat and tone my body for the summer. will swimming and cross country help with that? and also for cross country, will it be miserable for me? i cant run and get exhausted miserably, but im willing to take that pain from cross country to be more healthy. does running get easier as i do it more often? and i also dont know how to swim (the strokes and stuff, i know how to stay affloat and stuff) will that also get easier as i start the season and do it more often? this is my first time trying these sports, and i read that they are great for slimming you down, so please give me any information on them as possible, and any tips for them too would be very appreciated. thank you!

Replies

• only6icecubes
    only6icecubes Posts: 20 Member
    Options
    If you plan to run XC next season then by all means start running now. A couple of things to do first. Get in touch with the coach and get an idea of what the team will be running in weekly miles when school starts. Your coach might even have a summer schedule to give you. If they give you info, then disregard the rest of this post and listen to your coach.

If you are not a runner, start slow and build throughout the summer. Run every other day easy. Maybe 2 to 3 miles. Do not worry about time, only the distance. Get up every morning and run at the same time regardless of the weather. On the days you are not running you should be cross training. Swimming, because you mentioned that as another sport as well as bike riding. Rides should be triple the time you are running up to a max of 90 minutes. You should also start a body weightlifting program. Push ups, pull ups and core.