Best app based lifting programs?

Options
I'm starting to lift and want something very structured and planned for my lifting program. I don't do well trying to think things up on my own. I need to be told what to do ;) What are the best app based lifting plans out there? I tried 5x5 a couple of times but was wondering if there were other app based plans that were better. I'm a complete and utter newbie, just starting with a gym, female, 33yrs, 125lbs and I want to look less jiggly and feel strong.

Replies

• quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options
    Stronglifts 5X5 has the best app for a beginner program that I found. And I looked at a lot.
  • ritzvin
    ritzvin Posts: 2,860 Member
    Options
    Stronglifts 5X5 has the best app for a beginner program that I found. And I looked at a lot.

ditto.
  • acampbe2umd
    acampbe2umd Posts: 145 Member
    Options
    I use the app strong. It does not have a built in plan, but you're able to enter your own (or maybe it does and I've just never used it). I follow PHUL and entered the appropriate exercises/workouts and then it remembers my sets, last weights, tracks progression and has a timer built in that I can set. I've been happy with it. You can complete 4 lifts for free to see if you like it.
  • Rusty740
    Rusty740 Posts: 749 Member
    edited June 2017
    Options
    There's also Starting Strength app (it's what Strong Lifts was designed around), it's not free, but it will teach you.

I'd also recommend stronglifts if you want a solid program that will tell you what to do.

If you want to do Strong Lifts but don't like the feel of the app the best one I've found is Strong, it has an incredibly user friendly interface and you can just do what you want. It's $4 or something.
  • ROBOTFOOD
    ROBOTFOOD Posts: 5,527 Member
    Options
    531, 5x5
  • CSARdiver
    CSARdiver Posts: 6,252 Member
    Options
    Going to agree with the others and start with Stronglifts 5x5.