New vegan

Options
fitmomma99
fitmomma99 Posts: 29 Member
I am new to a WFPB diet. Weight loss is a goal but not a priority in my life. I am just looking to improve the health of myself and my family. That being said I would love some ideas for vegan dinners preferably without curry (hubby hates, I've never had). I am getting tired of veggie stir frys and veggie burritos lol. Also if anyone wants to add me for encouragement that would be nice too :) thanks fellow vegans :)

Replies

• Barbs2222
    Barbs2222 Posts: 433 Member
    Options
    We like bean tacos with pico de gallo, with a side of spanish rice.
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    If your reason for vegan diet is healthy, you may want to rethink that! vegan diet can be "healthy" but vegan in and of itself does not equate to healthy, just like being an omnivorou can be healthy, and probably more so than a vegan diet
  • elliej
    elliej Posts: 466 Member
    edited June 2017
    Options
    There is a group called Happy Herbivores you might look to join and read through. You can basically eat everything you ate before meal-wise, except you have to be a little creative in replacing animal with plant based products. Lasagne (lentils instead of mince), mushroom stroganoff (instead of beef), mac n cheese made with plant based milk and nutritional yeast... it goes on. High protein meat replacement products (seitan tofu tempeh soy) are available in most areas which help, just check they have no added egg/milk/honey.

My favourite dishes include 'boeuf' bourginon (with seitan), loads of curries (sorry), tuscan sausage casserole (with vegan sausages and canellini beans), homemade lentil burgers, and thai green curry (with vegan Quorn pieces)

Good luck with your transition!
  • vegan4lyfe2012
    vegan4lyfe2012 Posts: 1,157 Member
    Options