Being a nurse... Calories burned???

Options
Hi everyone! :) I am a nurse, and I work (standing/walking at a light pace in an office) on average 7-8 hours on my feet at a time (without sitting at all), and was wondering if anyone has a similar job and has calculated the calories burned? I ordered a pedometer, but it hasn't came in yet. I calculated it online, and it's saying I've burned anywhere from 600-1,000 calories for 7 hours straight. I was just curious if this sounded accurate? Any opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Kalrez
    Kalrez Posts: 655 Member
    Options
    When I had a similar job, I just set my activity level to something appropriate. I'm pretty sure it even says "nurse" as an example.
  • OKbound
    OKbound Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Hey, I have been wondering the same thing. It seems like this site has nursing as a moderately active job, but let me tell you, I work on an orthopedic pediatric unit and I run my bottom off. It would be interesting to see just how many calories we burn!
  • recoverynervosa
    Options
    Hi there,
    I too work at the hospital, albeit it's volunteering at patient transport. I'm on my feet for probably 3 of the 4 hours I'm there, and I end up burning quite a lot of calories as well. It is accurate, but you have to take into account that it's also part of your daily routine.
    Take care!
  • _Rosie_
    _Rosie_ Posts: 16
    Options
    Depending on the day, it can be really busy at our office too! I'm in the dermatology field. :) I did set it to nursing, but I'm getting different numbers, so I was just curious to see if anyone else has calculated it...
  • laureneva15
    laureneva15 Posts: 280
    Options
    Kinda off topic, but have you got any advice for a student nurse? still only first year, we go on our first clinical placements in a few weeks, which is scary
  • missfittin_missy
    missfittin_missy Posts: 184 Member
    Options