2»

Replies

• lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    CBD92 wrote: »
    lorrpb wrote: »
    CBD92 wrote: »
    Lorrpb we are actually driving across country! So space isn't really the issue, it's just the funding.

Coach Jen...you're brilliant you know that? I never even thought to bring a small pot haha. Some of the huts have fire pits. I would say...maybe 8 of the 12 huts so I could totally buy a very small lightweight pot and take that. I think that would be much lighter/take up less space than a portable stove for sure! And I've been saving my dryer lint for 2 years with no purpose, I keep thinking it'll come in handy/I'll throw it outside for the birds/use it in the garden and it's just still sitting there, haha! Good to know that trick. I'll definitely take that with, thanks! And yes, I am also a vegetarian who doesn't even like trail mix to begin with so I can see it'll be a very interesting journey. Honestly this isn't even something I'm looking forward to as in a super exciting vacation, I'm actually slightly dreading it but really love the challenge :) I would say my survival skills are better than average but I definitely have a lot to learn! Transitioning to backpacking hikes is kind of scary. Last year was my first and it was intense! I've been sure to train hard since then to get ready for this one (we have been planning it for almost a year now!). Are there some pretty good options for hut to hut hiking in New England? I bet there are some really nice ones!

I guess I don't understand the funding issue. What does it cost to pack your stove in the car?
    If no one in you group has one, you could check out a few different Goodwill stores. I often see such things there but you might have you hunt a little. It's not like they keep a stock like as regular store.