Anyone eat Ezekiel bread & why?

PatanjaliTwist
PatanjaliTwist Posts: 485 Member
edited July 2017 in Food and Nutrition
I'm avoiding carbs, as I have 20-lbs more to lose & a slightly modified Dukan Diet works best for me (lost 10-lbs in 3-wks)... basically, I strictly follow it but add in 1 serving of fruit/day.

But, I read about E bread's low glycemic value & thought I'd give it a try, as rather than eat meat, meat & more meat (when I say meat, I mean animal protein), I'd like to mix it up & have a sandwich or PB2 on toast 2-3 times/wk.

Today I ate my 1st piece of E whole sprout bread. It gave me a strange kick, as in a sugar rush. 3-hrs later & I still feel it. It doesn't feel terrible, but it doesn't feel good... it feels like I ate candy & am now awaiting a sugar crash.

For those of you who eat E bread, do you experience this? I don't get this feeling when I've eaten homemade bread or even bakery bread (before the Dukan Diet). Since I've been avoiding carbs for a few months now, is that the rush I feel or is there some ingredient that's a known cause in E bread?

Also, for those of you who eat it, did you do so during a weight loss phase & did it work for you?

Cheers very much! Have a great weekend, All!

Replies

• mmapags
    mmapags Posts: 8,934 Member
    I eat it regularly. I am not doing low carb. I eat it for it's nutrient density and bio-availability. No, I've never gotten and kind of "kick" from it. I eat moderate carb and not low carb, so I couldn't say if the effect you say you experienced was from eating low carb. Yes, I've eaten it during a weight loss phase. I have no idea what you mean by "did it work". Did it work in what sense? If you mean did it work for weight loss, no food does that. Weight loss requires a calorie deficit. What one eats or whether one eats low carb or moderate carb or high protien or whatever is all a matter of personal preference and nutritional goals.
  • Sabine_Stroehm
    Sabine_Stroehm Posts: 19,263 Member