I'm underweight and trying to gain! Tips?

I'm new to this app and I'm trying to gain weight. I'm a 5'3" 22-year-old female and I've always been very small. I think the most I've ever weighed was 97 pounds, but I'm currently 89 pounds. I don't try to be small, I just think I get full quick and tend to eat less than most people. Anyway, I want to gain 15-20 pounds because I have a hunch I may be unhealthy (although doctors have not talked about my weight in the past) and I plan to have kids in the next couple years, but fear my weight might make it hard to conceive and have a healthy baby. What's the best way to gain? Types of foods? How/what can I eat when I don't have much of an appetite?

Replies

• breelarallen
    breelarallen Posts: 4 Member
    I really like eating calorie dense fruit and nut bars because they aren't very filling and are small for the calorie amount. Clif builder bars are good as well as bars like raw rev glo bars (super yummy too), larabars, kind bars, probars, etc.

Probars aren't very filling at all and can pack easy 300-400 calories. Pair with a banana or piece of fruit and you have a tiny 500 calorie snack. Try supplement drinks and smoothies. It is so easy to make 500-600 weight gain smoothies or have a small ensure/orgain/boost drink a few times a day to get in extra calories.

Gaining weight is a pain sometimes but you just have to be consistent and count your calories to make sure you get enough every day. If you eat more calories than you burn every day you WILL gain weight.

I am very surprised you still have you period being so underweight. Have you always had a regular period without using birth control?

Thanks for the advice! I have been buying granola bars lately and smoothies sound good so I might try that. I haven't ever counted calories until now and I'm starting to see how little I actually eat...