Lifting advice

Options
I'm new to lifting and was hoping to get some input. I've lost nearly 30 lbs with another 20ish to go. A month ago I started going to the gym regularly and I'm following this routine: http://www.aworkoutroutine.com/the-beginner-weight-training-workout-routine/

Except I modified it a bit. Frankly the squat rack was and bench press were too intimidating and I replaced them with leg press and a bench press machines. My plan was to do that for a month to build some basic strength and get the lay of the land at the gym, and then hire a trainer to make sure I know what I'm doing when switching to squatting and actual bench pressing.

Now I'm wondering if it's the right time as I'm still in a decent deficit and will be for a few more months. I average about a pound to a pound a half a week. Do you guys think it's worth competing for time at the squat rack (there's only one at my gym) now? Or am I better off getting some more fat off first while doing the machines? I know they don't use the stabilizer muscles but it targets big muscle groups, is that good enough until I can eat a slight surplus and start building muscle?

Replies

• usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options
    I think I would change out at least the bench press machine for dumbbells. It allows for use of the muscles in a similar manner with the bonus of it being safe and you can easily scale the weight.

There are a wide variety of squat variations that don't necessarily use a barbell, maybe you'd be more comfortable with one of them for now. Some examples are the suitcase squat, goblet squat, pistol squat, and a few variations of split squat.
  • Rusty740
    Rusty740 Posts: 749 Member
    Options
    Oh my oh my get on that squat rack!!

You'll find that squats are fantastic for everything. Do squats and your posture is improved, you lose back pain while sitting at your desk. Your abs grow. I can't say how much I'd encourage you to get in there :)
  • SmithsonianEmpress