Don't know how to calculate calories

Options
Hey everyone I know this is going to sound stupid but I had to five up my gym pass cuz of money so I dont get to exercise much anymore I have 2 kids I play with they are 8 and 10 but still not much of exercise..... I'm a in home health provider so other words I clean house for a living and I know I burn calories foing that but I don't know how to find out how many I do count my steps and it tells me how many calories I durn just from walking around at work but still.....
I would ask friends but I don't have many to help me out with all of this cuz they think I'm crazy for trying to loss weight they think it will just come off on it's own but then again my best friend has 5 kids so hers dose..... if anyone can help I would really appreciate it thank you for reading and hope you can give me some advice on in this alone

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    Use your activity level setting...look at the descriptors for your activity level settings and pick the appropriate one for what you do. Trying to calculate these independently is going to be very difficult to do with any accuracy.
  • cerise_noir
    cerise_noir Posts: 5,468 Member
    Options
    Agreed with the above. Don't add work/house cleaning as exercise and adjust your activity to the appropriate setting (I like the idea of selecting "lightly active" and seeing how you do.

Add purposeful exercise to your diary using the exercise tab. Eat back 1/3-1/2 of those calories back since mfp likes to overestimate calorie burns.
  • pandabearretherford
    pandabearretherford Posts: 28 Member
    Options
    I'm already set to lightly active so that's good and I'm trying to eat just around 1000 calories a day and hope that works
  • estherdragonbat
    estherdragonbat Posts: 5,283 Member
    Options