Starting again

Options
Hi,
I'm looking for friends and mentors, inspiration and motivation, as I start once again in an effort to lose some pounds (or kilograms). I'm a 37yo doctor who should know better. Probably close to 30kg overweight, and for the first time starting to feel the physical effects - reflux and indigestion, constipation, low energy levels - and for the first time in my life I've reached a point where I feel embarrassed to go out and exercise ... so it's probably time for change. I struggle with my appetite more than anything else, probably because my diet is pretty crap. Anyway, I'm now in the mode for change.
Looking for people who can support with no blame, no shame strategies - I've already had plenty of that sort of "support" and it hasn't been particularly helpful.
Cheers,
Ben

Replies

• paulawriteslove
    paulawriteslove Posts: 195 Member
    Options
    Hello! Welcome to MFP! You can do it! It'll be hard at first, but remember to take it one day at a time. Feel free to add me if you'd like :)
  • jasummers76
    jasummers76 Posts: 225 Member
    Options
    Hi Ben,

Being a doctor you may be familiar with the drug Phentermine. It is an appetite suppressant. If taken for a few months and not abused while retraining and learning how to eat right again it has helped me a few year back. I was under an MD's care and was working with a nutritionist.

In my opinion, they get a bad rap. Many people use them they are not hungry do not eat lose weight do not change what they eat or workout and gain it back. Causing the entire prescription regime of weight loss aids to be demonized as a money grab, unhealthy, or NON-natural. I think this like Gastric surgeries can aid in weight loss with the right mental fortitude and desire for change. Many people do not realize a large portion of Gastric weight loss patients gain a significant amount of the weight back within 5 years or so.

A lot of this whole process at least for me is mental.
  • get_fit2009