High deficit - opinions

Options
Hi everyone I am new to dieting and want to get your feedback on my weight loss plan.

I am 30 yrs old, 6'2 and 240kg, currently going into my third week of a diet and exercise program.

My maintenance calories come in a little over 3000 per day. I am currently eating 1500 calories per day, and one day a week I have a high calorie day which is anywhere between 2500 and 3000 calories. 5 days a week I ride the exercise bike at my gym which burns 500 calories per session, or 2500 per week.

I know that I need a 7500 calorie deficit per week to lose 1kg (2lbs) which I have no problem with, as I am averaging a deficit of approx 8500 per week, which I plan to continue for 6 more weeks, and then reduce the deficit to a more acceptable level.

My question is, has anyone tried a 1500 calorie deficit before and what has you experience been? I've read online that a high deficit is not necessarily a good thing, but I've lost 3kg in 2 weeks and seeing a tangible result increases my motivation to do better. Knowing myself if I had a lower deficit and only lost a marginal amount after 2 weeks of strict diet and painful exercise I would lose motivation and give up, as has happened numerous times in the past. To that end I like the fact that results are visible quickly, and I want to see if anyone else out there has had similar experiences and if you have any recommendations.

Replies

• Scottb4857
    Scottb4857 Posts: 38 Member
    Options