Weight loss while breastfeeding

Options
Any help with weight loss while breastfeeeding? I have a 3 month old baby, exclusively breastfeed, and have 50 lbs to lose.

I am currently eating around 1800 calories a day, but don't want to dip too low and compromise my milk supply. I'll likely continue to breastfeed him until he's 2, so I can't wait til then to diet!

Replies

• Mamatano
    Mamatano Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    For most people weight comes off automatically as they breastfeed. As a mother of 5 I wouldnt advise you to cut your food too much becaue you need nutrician to produce breast milk. However do not eat for 2! Just eat healthy and avoid junk and sugary food.
  • 4gig
    4gig Posts: 22 Member
    edited September 2017
    Options
    I'm not an expert and you may want to ask a doctor or lactation consultant but I would suggest finding out what your total daily energy expenditure (tdee) is roughly on a calculator like https://tdeecalculator.net and base you calories near what it says since it doesn't take into consideration the extra 500 calories you burn while breastfeeding and see if you start making progress. If you're not losing there start cutting back further slowing till you do but keep your weight loss goal reasonable about 1 lb a week so you don't risk your milk supply.
  • bendyourkneekatie
    bendyourkneekatie Posts: 696 Member
    Options
    I breastfed til past 2 with my youngest and lost weight: I found what worked easiest at the start was setting my mfp calories at maintenance and letting the bf be my deficit.
    When weighloss slowed/stalled down the track, I lowered calories gradually.
  • Mkneedtogetfit
    Mkneedtogetfit Posts: 93 Member
    Options
    I breastfed til past 2 with my youngest and lost weight: I found what worked easiest at the start was setting my mfp calories at maintenance and letting the bf be my deficit.
    When weighloss slowed/stalled down the track, I lowered calories gradually.

This and...