Bordom while running?

Options
Hello, I’m a beginner runner and I run about 3 times a week with bad runs being about 2 miles long at a 8:30 per mile pace to about 4.6 miles at a 9:30 per mile pace. I’ve noticed that one of the reasons I don’t run very far is boredom. Any tips?

Replies

• janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    Options
    Try new routes, run beautiful places, find a running group in your area, listen to music/podcasts.
  • stanmann571
    stanmann571 Posts: 5,728 Member
    Options
    Try new routes, run beautiful places, find a running group in your area, listen to music/podcasts.

/thread
  • iamthemotherofdogs
    iamthemotherofdogs Posts: 562 Member
    Options
    Audio books!
  • sandy_taylor13
    sandy_taylor13 Posts: 194 Member
    Options
    I have my favorite Pandora station and rock out to 80s music. :wink:
  • DX2JX2
    DX2JX2 Posts: 1,921 Member
    Options
    remmus102 wrote: »
    Hello, I’m a beginner runner and I run about 3 times a week with bad runs being about 2 miles long at a 8:30 per mile pace to about 4.6 miles at a 9:30 per mile pace. I’ve noticed that one of the reasons I don’t run very far is boredom. Any tips?

No need for any answers other than the above. That said, why do you need to run longer? What are you goals? 10-15 miles per week is more than adequate for somebody who just wants to run for fitness.
  • richardgavel
    richardgavel Posts: 1,001 Member
    Options
    I tend towards music over audiobooks or podcasts because then I can tune in or out mentally of what is coming thru the headphones as I want. Unless I decide I need an extended walk break, then I hit the podcasts.
  • LiftHeavyThings27105
    LiftHeavyThings27105 Posts: 2,086 Member
    edited October 2017
    Options