Lunges- I just don't feel the effects!

Options
Hey everyone,

I'm having some trouble with lunges. I'm not sure if it's my form, or my strength level in my legs, or how light I already am, or a combo of the three, but I don't feel any effects from doing lunges. I did 50 yesterday as part of a bodyweight routine and while balancing was difficult, I could have done way more. Is this common, or should I be feeling muscle fatigue the same way I feel muscle fatigue when I do pushups?

Replies

• magster4isu
    magster4isu Posts: 632 Member
    Options
    I am not a fitness expert, so there are probably others with better advise, but... Have you tried adding dumbells to make it more challenging?
  • KarenSmith2018
    KarenSmith2018 Posts: 302 Member
    Options
    Are you getting your knee to the ground? And is your front shin at 90 degrees with your knee behind the front of your toes? If your form is good then add dumbells or a barbell to make them harder.
  • Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options
    Barbell Reverse Lunges are one of the few exercises that I always feel the next day. If you can control your balance, I'd suggest adding some weight.
  • BusyRaeNOTBusty
    BusyRaeNOTBusty Posts: 7,166 Member
    Options
    Why are you doing body weight? Do you not have access to weights?
  • ccruz985
    ccruz985 Posts: 646 Member
    Options
    I personally prefer body weight exercises, my body has never changed so much. That being said, I think it may be your form. If you're concerned about lower body, why don't you try T25's Lower Focus? Incredible.
  • Adammmmm119
    Adammmmm119 Posts: 171 Member
    Options
    What muscles are you trying to hit? Glutes or Quads? Take a bigger step back for glutes and a shorter step for quads. I personally can do much more with my quads so I feel it less with a shorter step.
  • psoleil42
    psoleil42 Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    lorrpb wrote: »