Cheap ways to eat clean?

Options
Anyone have suggestions? I have this idea in my mind (probably wrong) that you have to spend tons of money buying organic food at a special store and stuff like that in order to "eat clean" but I'm a college student and I'm dirt poor, so if anyone has any inside knowledge that would be helpful :smile: I REALLY want to stop eating Mac and Cheese all the time...

Replies

• CharlieBarleyMom
    CharlieBarleyMom Posts: 727 Member
    Options
    I'm not a college student but still mostly dirt poor... so I'm looking forward to the answers people supply.
  • lulabellarama
    lulabellarama Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    Beans and pulses are a great base and are dirt cheap. Buy whatever fruit and veg are in season and on special. Frozen fruit and veg is great value and lasts longer.
    It takes some getting used to, and it IS more expensive than some processed stuff but it IS worth it.
  • BeautyFromPain
    BeautyFromPain Posts: 4,952 Member
    Options
    bump
  • texasmagz
    texasmagz Posts: 35 Member
    Options
    Shop from the bulk bins. I get better prices on brown rice, steel cut oats, etc because they're not charging for the packaging and advertising.
  • Hananiah
    Hananiah Posts: 128 Member
    Options
    Publix occasionally has sales on their Greenwise (healthy) food and there is a store called Fresh Market that has weekly sales(not sure if either of those are near you).
  • NaomiLyn15
    NaomiLyn15 Posts: 388 Member
    Options