Seem to have stalled out on 5X5 program

Options
I have been doing the Stronglifts 5X5 for around 2 months, along with running a few times a week. I have been progressing well and happy with the results but I seem to have stalled for the last week and not been able to raise the weights primarily with squats.
I have stayed at the same weight for the last few workouts, I tried a higher weight and my form suffered so I backed off to the last weight I was comfortable with which was 105 for squat. Should I try and push through the stall or just back off for a little bit and try and progress after a while.

Replies

• piperdown44
    piperdown44 Posts: 958 Member
    Options
    It's been a while since I ran/read the program (I ran it for a year) but you deload down about 20% and work your way back up.
    So for squats you could drop down to 85 and then work back up to 105 and see if you get past the stall.

Also a bit of general guide (it's not written in stone or anything)
    3 stalls, then deload.
    3 deloads then move to 3x5
    3 stalls, then deload
    3 deloads then move to 1x5
    3 stalls, then move to another program

People usually skip the 1x5 program, which is fine, and look for an intermediate program.
  • joemac1988
    joemac1988 Posts: 1,021 Member
    Options
    What @piperdown44 said. Work in some deloads.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    Are you dieting? You aren't going to really progress as with that program as if you were in maintenance or in a surplus. Personally, I've had better success with a 3x5 program when cutting weight for making strength gains, but in a cut, I usually go to higher rep and lower weight work and just increase my weight as I can. It's pretty hard to make big and linear strength gains in a calorie deficit.

As I recall, that program calls for you to de-load when you stall...so you could try that
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,392 MFP Moderator
    Options