Is it okay if my body feels sore?

Options
irenecatarina
irenecatarina Posts: 1 Member
edited December 2017 in Fitness and Exercise
Hey! Im new to the gym, just did my 2nd day ytd. I already felt sore all over my body when i woke up the next morning after doing my 1st day at the gym. Now, its gonna be my 3rd day at the gym consequently, but my body still feels sore. What should i do? Should i stop? Thanks! xx

Replies

• kenyonhaff
    kenyonhaff Posts: 1,377 Member
    Options
    It's normal to feel sore but this could be a sign of too much too fast. Or too much of the same muscle group.

Remember muscles need to recover and heal to grow.

It is totally ok to work out every other day.
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    Consider going every other day to give you body a chance to adapt. Try that for a month, then start increasing the frequency by 1 day a week if you want to.
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    Yep, rest days are as important as your training days. Don't go from 0 days in the gym to 6 days a week or you're likely to burn out fast.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    What should i do?

Build up slowly.
    Give your body time to adjust and recover.
  • firef1y72
    firef1y72 Posts: 1,579 Member
    Options
    Hey! Im new to the gym, just did my 2nd day ytd. I already felt sore all over my body when i woke up the next morning after doing my 1st day at the gym. Now, its gonna be my 3rd day at the gym consequently, but my body still feels sore. What should i do? Should i stop? Thanks! xx

No you shouldn't stop, but you take a rest day or two. It's taken me 2 years to build up to training 6 days a week, if I'd gone from nothing to every day it would have half killed me. You also need to learn to listen to your body, there's a big difference from aching sore from DOMS and actual pain sore from over training or injury.
  • canadianlbs