A little intimidated - I can finally get back to a regular exercise regime after 5 months off.

Options
Well, more or less ... I still need a little more time, another 1-2 months, before I can do almost everything I had been doing regularly, 3-5/6 times a week for the past 5-6 years.

I had to basically drop out of doing much about 4 1/2 months ago. I had an accident, and ended up breaking a number of body parts that were fairly important in any exercise regimen - broke my leg in 2 places, broke my thumb, tore a ligament, and fractured some wrist bones, had a rotator cuff injury, and also a pretty good concussion going for about a month. A couple of surgeries, about 8 weeks on crutches, a cast on my hand for a month plus a splint for another month, plus a lot of physical therapy, and all of that is pretty much resolved.

And, just to cap off the year - I went through with an already-planned surgery on my foot in late November; not an accident, just arthritic degeneration, so I had two joints fused, a couple of toes straightened, and I just had a protruding wire pulled out yesterday. I'm still in a "boot" for a few more weeks, but at least I'm not on crutches, I was for the first few weeks.

So, I more or less can get back to it. I have my first one on one session scheduled the week after next week, and eventually will go back to doing an AM boot camp as well.

And, it's a little intimidating, because I know I've lost strength, I've gained a few pounds (because exercise balances out the fact I like to eat the wrong foods).

Crikey ... I need to make this go well.

Replies

• lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    Start off slow and easy, just like a beginner would. Stay consistent and you will get to where you want to go.
  • middlehaitch
    middlehaitch Posts: 8,483 Member
    Options
    Seconding @lorrpb - start slow, really slow, and, if lifting, light.

Make sure you have got back a basic fitness level before starting the boot camp.