Protien Shake Before or After?

Ok so I am pretty new to MFP and also very new to workingout. I am about to go for my morining jog and would like to know if its better to drink my protien shake before of after my jog? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated :smile:

Replies

• welloiledmachine
    welloiledmachine Posts: 1,147 Member
    You are going to get different answers on that. Do you add anything to it other than protein powder? How long have you been up and have you eaten since you've been up?
  • I figured there would be many different answers. But ive been up for about 30 minutes and had a glass of water. I usually just use powder and 8oz of skim milk.
  • kerlyp
    kerlyp Posts: 11 Member
    No.......great example. When you work out in the morning without eating is like a frying pan with a pat of butter (fat). Having anything to eat or drink (Besides water) is like a frying pan with a piece of bread with the butter on top. You want to burn the fat and not what you just consumed. I hope this helps you.
  • Vaus2000
    Vaus2000 Posts: 16 Member
    You have to have some food for energy before a workout or you will bonk, thats an old school term. I'd eat a light breakfast of fruit and then the protien shake.
  • I don't think there is such a correct answer to this because people drink thier shakes, before or after morning exercise. I always drink my protein shake after exercise and it seems to be helping me lots, I lose energy while working out, then gain energy with a perfect glass of protein shake. If your hungry before your exercise then eat something really light like a toast bread, or an apple, orange, then after you come from your excerise you can drink up a really good shake :)... Good luck hope this information helps
  • bbbbb33333
    bbbbb33333 Posts: 1,107 Member