Carbs??

Options
Hello Everyone!

I am at 1200 calories a day and I usually eat 70-90 of protein. But i was wondering ifiI stay at no more than 100 carbs a day will i be able to still loose weight? Im new to this, and i always heard carbs can keep on fat. So idk if i should eat lesser than 100 grams a day maybe 80 or 60? Thanks for the help and advice! ☺

Replies

• bri_fitnessjourney
    bri_fitnessjourney Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    Thank you! So I basically should just stay in my calorie deficit and not go over MFP suggestions for carbs, proteins, fat etc. I'm slowly getting it ☺
  • batorkin
    batorkin Posts: 281 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options
    The only reason you should need to monitor carbs/sugar/etc is if you have a health condition. All that matters for weight loss is calories, you could even eat 1200 calories of chocolate a day and still lose weight just as fast as someone eating 1200 calories of fruits/veggies.

I'd still make an effort to eat protein in every meal though, it'll keep you feeling full and help you retain your muscles.
  • bri_fitnessjourney
    Options
    Thank you for all the help! I just want to make sure i'm on the right track with my life style change also goal to loose some pounds
  • janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    Options
    Weight loss is created by a calorie deficit. That's it, that's all you need to do. You could eat 100% carbohydrates and lose weight if that was your only goal.

Macronutrient goals are for nutrition. Your body needs a certain amount of fat and protein to survive so you want to make sure you're getting enough of those.