Options
2»

Replies

• Momepro
    Momepro Posts: 1,509 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options
    lorrpb wrote: »
    Why not take lessons now to help motivate yourself and give you a new skill to help stay active?

Money. Lessons are expensive,and I'm already paying for my daughter's.
  • SarahLascelles1
    SarahLascelles1 Posts: 95 Member
    Options
    Being slimmer in no way makes swimming harder. Practice will mean you improve.
  • snowflake954
    snowflake954 Posts: 8,399 Member
    Options
    Momepro wrote: »
    lorrpb wrote: »
    Why not take lessons now to help motivate yourself and give you a new skill to help stay active?

Money. Lessons are expensive,and I'm already paying for my daughter's.

I second taking lessons. I've been swimming for 22 yrs. It's true lessons are expensive, but inform yourself at your pool. There are usually family plans, discount specials, group learning, or other ways to save. You'll get more bang for your buck if you learn to swim now instead of waiting. If all else fails get on youtube to try and learn some technique. Have fun.
  • speedingticket
    speedingticket Posts: 73 Member
    Options
    It can depend where you carry your fat. I coach swimming for triathlon, and often men have more difficulty with their body position than women. They have slim and muscular legs from running and cycling, giving them less lower body buoyancy than women who have more fat on their lower body. It's more likely to be as a result of some technical breakdown (breathing, head position, "pushing down" in the water), but if you combine a technical flaw and low body fat, then yes you may "get away" with more with more fat on the lower limbs. Correcting the technical issue will resolve the problem, though. Most children have low BF, and as someone else said, so do professional swimmers, and they manage just fine...
  • Janice6543
    Janice6543 Posts: 92 Member
    Options