How to choose a good trainer?

Options
TaffyBranwyn
TaffyBranwyn Posts: 35 Member
edited February 2018 in Fitness and Exercise
I'm a beginner with weights at home & despite having watched at least 200 videos with varying people on proper form & workouts... & reading & using several weight workout books as guides... I continually sustain the same injuries. They're not horrendous injuries, but enough that I've had to stop or take Ibuprofin for a few days to 1-wk & begin all over again, only to have the same issues. This has been the pattern for 6-mos & honestly, my frustration level is so high, I haven't used them for 6-wks & just glare at them in the corner each time I pass.

The injured areas are not parts of the body where I've had previous issues, so obviously I'm doing something wrong with weights & need a pro to tailor a workout for me & correct my form. In 2-wks, I'm relocating to Houston. I don't know anyone there, so have no one to ask for a referral. What criteria do people use in choosing a trainer? I'm a girl, so do women prefer or benefit more with female trainers? I'm also close to 50, so do those around my age benefit more with a trainer in the same age range or who works with older bodies? BTW, I'm healthy, reasonably fit & not overweight, so there shouldn't be any obstacles... I'm just not as strong as I'd like to be.

Also, I don't know how that process works. I cannot afford a trainer twice/wk for months at a time, at least not now. I'd like to see someone a handful of times to learn a few exercises & get form down, then do monthly visits to do corrections and/or add another exercise or 2. My goal is to workout at home or in the apt complex's fitness center, purely for financial reasons. Does that sound reasonable & are trainers willing to work within those parameters?