What to do with a 3# cauliflower???

Options
thesweetpea59
thesweetpea59 Posts: 40 Member
There was a 3# cauliflower in my CSA box today; I love cauliflower, but if I eat too much at once I pay a digestive price! I think I'll make some cauliflower soup and I love it roasted with parmesan. Ideas please on what to do with a cauliflower half the size of a basketball.

Replies

• rockymir
    rockymir Posts: 498 Member
    edited February 2018
    Options
    I steam it, then cut it in small pieces, season with olive oil, salt and pepper.
    Otherwise you can think of cauliflower frittata (add some black olives and steam the cauli in advance but don't overcook it, just a bit).
    Or you can make cauliflower mash, exactly as if it was potatoes.
    Or there's a cauliflower pizza crust but I'm not an expert on this one.
    I use steamed cauli like pasta, basically steam, cut up and top with pasta sauce.
  • livingleanlivingclean
    livingleanlivingclean Posts: 11,752 Member
    Options
    Combine your ideas - roast Cauliflower soup is delicious, and the roasting adds an extra flavour.

Cauliflower puree is yum, and Cauliflower "rice" is quite nice (I use it in a fried rice kind of dish, with other vegies, spices, herbs, meat, egg etc)
  • LivingtheLeanDream
    LivingtheLeanDream Posts: 13,345 Member
    Options
    Cauliflower is great with curry, add it with other veg for a tasty meal.

I also adore cauliflower fritters but they are sore on the calories.

Cauliflower rice? I've not used it that way myself but I hear its a good substitute for rice.
  • Francl27
    Francl27 Posts: 26,372 Member
    Options
    Soup is awesome and I really love it mashed with some cream cheese or laughing cow.
  • mxchana
    mxchana Posts: 666 Member
    Options
    Cut into pieces, blanch and freeze. In case you are unfamiliar with blanching, see http://www.pickyourown.org/freezing_cauliflower.htm
  • jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    edited February 2018
    Options