Shift work and weightloss

Options
Hey all im a new nurse working rotating 12 hour shifts. I have put on 15+ lbs in the last 6 months. Its time to build healthy habits to fight the nightshift bulge. Im looking for fellow shiftworkers to offer advice and moral support :)

Replies

• _Figgzie_
    _Figgzie_ Posts: 3,506 Member
    Options
    bring all of your food from home!!!! vending machines or co-workers bringing food can sabotage your efforts! Give yourself one day a week to cut loose but keep it strict...............prepare and bring everything!
  • sytchequeen
    sytchequeen Posts: 526 Member
    Options
    I used to work shifts, and gained quite a bit of weight during that time. It takes a while to get a grip of a sensible eating routine, and I had to gain a size or two in my uniform issue to get the message.

Much of that time I was driving round in a "response vehicle", without any fixed meal breaks or location, so made the mistake of convenience foods on the run. Once I told myself off and stopped doing that it made a big difference. Even though I'm now on regular days and office based I still bring all my own food into the office and don't go buying snacks.
  • MarkaStone
    MarkaStone Posts: 55 Member
    Options
    A water bottle and drink from it regularly not just when you feel thirsty. Also take in food from home. Meal prep can be a pita but once you get into the routine it works well.
  • gearhead426hemi
    gearhead426hemi Posts: 919 Member
    Options