Is anyone a grad student?

Options
I'd like to make some friends who are also working to balance grad school, full time jobs, working out, and eating healthy. It's tough!

Replies

• apullum
    apullum Posts: 4,838 Member
    Options
    Not a current grad student, but I finished my Ph.D. in 2015, so I might still be relevant :) I'm a new assistant professor if you want to talk weight loss in academia.
  • Freyhb
    Freyhb Posts: 28 Member
    Options
    Grad student here! Not working at the moment though but actively looking for jobs (which can be really frustrating)
  • marissafit06
    marissafit06 Posts: 1,996 Member
    Options
    Not a current grad student but did a MS and JD. I gained a ton of weight my first year of law school going to all the lunch talks with free food (can't pass up free pizza, right?). School was a good time for me to get my priorities in order before I went back to working full time and refocus on fitness and healthy habits.
  • Machka9
    Machka9 Posts: 24,868 Member
    Options
    I work full time.
    I'm a grad student.
    I am also very involved in my cycling club, both organising and cycling events.

Happily, eating can be a "back burner" thing. I don't have to think about it. I just eat the foods I need to eat at the times I need to eat them.
  • mscoutable
    mscoutable Posts: 30 Member
    Options
    I'm a grad student! I'm not working, but my program does not allow us to have a job due to the workload. :# Started eating healthier last semester some, but been sticking to it more this semester. I go to our school gym usually 2-4 times a week and go on a hike 1 to 2 times a week. Some weeks are better than others, but slowly moving in the right direction. We had 4 exams this week for example, so this week has not been my best of weeks!
  • shatabdi
    shatabdi Posts: 5 Member
    Options