Steps Calories Adjustment

Options
sigaiser
sigaiser Posts: 9 Member
Good morning everyone. I am new to myfitnesspal and I have a question for everyone...actually two questions.

First, I understand the concept in theory about the app continually adjusting your calorie intake for the day based off your activity. However today, I logged a 63 minute exercise that netted me +639 calories. My step count as of writing is 2282 Steps according to MFP (more on that later). It is now making a step adjustment of -1000 calories! That cant be right, can it? I have everything set up correctly, I think. Using iPhone X and Apple Watch. I have step tracking set to Apple Watch. I have negative adjustments enabled. It just seems like an extreme amount of negative adjustment. My starting caloric intake is 2200 and to have a 1000 deduction based off steps cant be healthy.

My second issue is steps...I currently show the following for today...
Apple Watch - 2240
Health App - 2281
MFP App - 2282

Why are they all reading different?

If anyone has any insight into these issues, I would love to hear it. Thank you all in advance.

Replies

• mutantspicy
    mutantspicy Posts: 624 Member
    Options
    What did you set your activity level to? 2240 steps is pretty low. I'm not sure how the negative adjustments work, as I haven't used them. But I imagine if you set your activity high, and only walk 2000 steps there would be an adjustment. That said, I think there may be something wrong with the step count cals in the app at the moment. Yesterday, I was over 18000 steps, it told me I could eat over 7000 cals. So mine was haywire yesterday also.
  • angelsja
    angelsja Posts: 860 Member
    Options
    If your set to anything above sedentary you won't start earning calories until you have surpassed 3k steps
  • PurdueGuy2001
    PurdueGuy2001 Posts: 22 Member
    edited April 2018
    Options