eating on a student budget?

Options
inlander
inlander Posts: 339 Member
Hi all, I'm new around here so I hope this isn't a common/redundant topic. I'm a grad student living off of student loans. I count calories and try to abide by the MFP guidelines for carbohydrates/protein/etc and I've been doing pretty well eating healthfully on a budget. I generally eat oatmeal or plain greek yogurt with fruit for breakfast, snack throughout the day on fruit, I eat salads, cottage cheese, mixed vegetables, tofu, meat occasionally, eggs, and legumes, cous cous, but I don't really eat anything else. I don't really get much variety, but I'm okay with that. I feel like I could be eating more fresh veggies but frozen veggies seem to be a better deal in the store than fresh ones.

Is anyone else on a pretty tight budget and if so, what do you typically eat on a daily basis? (It would be helpful to know if you count calories only or if you low carb or WW or something, because I'm curious.)

Replies

• JennLifts
    JennLifts Posts: 1,913 Member
    Options
    I kind of am, but the only thing i've done that's helped is switched stores from kroger to trader joes. Much cheaper.
  • MiniMichelle
    MiniMichelle Posts: 807 Member
    Options
    bump
  • merB89
    merB89 Posts: 122
    Options