Protein Powders; Should I Use Them?

Options
Hi everyone! I lost my last 6 kg recently with diet + weight & cardio training: 4 kg from fat mass but unfortunately 2 kg from my muscle mass. My trainer insists that I should eat foods with protein within 1 hour after I finish my training to avoid further muscle loss. The first problem is that I'm usually at the gym drying my hair or out waiting for the bus within 1 hour after my training. And the second problem is that I'm too picky so I don't eat tuna or salmon sandwiches or something like that which are good to carry around in your gym bag.

Do you have any food suggestions for me, maybe some home made recipes that don't involve protein powders?

I'm really new to protein powders, I thought that only those guys with big muscles use them to fluff their muscles even more... But in my case, they seem pretty functional to use. Should I trust them? I red that you need to use vitamin B if you use them and they are hard on kidneys. It's a whole new area for me. Any suggestions? Thank you all in advance :)

Replies

• marquiche
    Options
    Do you like nuts such as almonds? What about peanut butter or almond butter?
  • ItsMeLori
    ItsMeLori Posts: 346
    Options
    I use Whey protein powder because I have a hard time getting protein in. Eat nuts too!
  • RTricia
    RTricia Posts: 720
    Options
    I'm not a big meat eater - I wish I was but my body can't seem to digest it very well. I use rice proteins since I cannot to whey, soy or pea proteins.

Lots of nuts though, too. But those have carbs in them. Good luck.
  • ShaunHensley
    Options
    powerbars protein plus. totally portable
  • LivLovLrn
    LivLovLrn Posts: 580 Member
    Options
    I agree with nuts, if you like them, I also use a rice protein powder after my evening classes. That way I can get my protein without eating right before bed.
  • boopiejones
    Options
    cottage cheese and eggs. not super portable, but TONS of really good protein.