Confused!

Options
So I'm new at all this, so this might be a dumb question, lol... So this morning I weighed and I was 171.6. I just weighed at 6:30pm and I was 175.6.. How did I gain so much in one day!? I also just ate too. But after the night, does it go back down by the morning. Of course I'm fixing to work it off on my elliptical, but I'm just wondering how I gained so much in a day.

Replies

• RebelliousRibbons
    RebelliousRibbons Posts: 391 Member
    Options
    Water retention if you ate a lot of salty foods, didn't drink enough, ate more than normal, etc.
  • kellykat2
    kellykat2 Posts: 87 Member
    Options
    Your weight will fluctuate throughout the day. I usually just weigh myself first thing in the morning and then record that.
  • mccarty2003
    mccarty2003 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Yeah, I don't know why I just weighed. I should have known better, so now it got me down. But hopefully tomorrow it will be good. Lol..thanks girls!
  • IronSmasher
    IronSmasher Posts: 3,908 Member
    Options
    Your weight will fluctuate throughout the day. I usually just weigh myself first thing in the morning and then record that.

This, plus once a week
  • Jorra
    Jorra Posts: 3,338 Member
    Options
    The food you eat has weight. It's gone in the morning because you've...gotten rid of it.
  • Michelle_M2002
    Michelle_M2002 Posts: 301 Member
    Options
    Your weight can fluctuate something like 3-5 pounds a day. In the morning, you haven't eaten or done anything yet. At the end of the day you have eaten several times, you have drank fluids, if you worked out your muscles could be retaining water while they are going through their repair process. It's also possible, in the morning that part of your weight is from the food you ate the day before. In addition, fluctuating hormone cycles can affect your weight. Which is why they say you should only weigh yourself once a week.