Advise needed!

Options
IamEmmilia
IamEmmilia Posts: 2 Member
Hi all!

I'm new to MyFitnesspal and calorie counting. I am not too sure how this works, im on 1200 cals per day. Do I try and use all my calories and lose weight? Can i eat what i want and still lose weight? I work in an office so food prep and cooking is harder as I don't have much time. Any advise on food?

Thank you x

Replies

• TheMrWobbly
    TheMrWobbly Posts: 2,535 Member
    Options
    Good morning Emmilia,

Start with logging your food to see where you are. Once you see the horrors of some of the sat fat, sugar and salt content in what you normally eat you start by shopping with those things in mind and you will buy better food. If you are a fast food, on the go sort of person see the nutrition is and it will hopefully change your buying pattern.

I don't know how much weight you want to lose however if you really want to lose there will some tough choices on changing habits.

Track your first week accurately and see where you go from there.

I work with no access to shops and I have switched from sandwiches to salads, from left over pizza to soup and just a general change in mindset on what I eat.
  • kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    Options
    Set your calorie target properly (a daily deficit to achieve a weekly weightloss of no more than 1% of your bodyweight).

Get a food scale. Use it. Log everything you eat (and drink that has calories) in your food diary. Prelogging helps. Hit your calorie target consistently. You can bank calories for the weekend if you like.

You can eat what you want and lose weight. It's actually a requirement; feeling deprived and trapped and miserable is how you end up self-sabotaging and rebound eating and regaining.