Pushup question

Options
Is it better to do a few pushups with toes down (male pushups) or twice as many with knees down (girl pushups)?

Replies

• JennLifts
    JennLifts Posts: 1,913 Member
    Options
    do as many regulars as you can, then drop when you start to fail. If you're hitting high numbers, you can add a weight plate to your back.
  • trainguy917
    trainguy917 Posts: 366 Member
    Options
    I would guess doing either one to failure would end up being of about the same benefit, though I'm no expert.
  • bluemist248
    bluemist248 Posts: 207 Member
    Options
    Bump
    I too would like to know the answer as all I can manage so far is the knees down one!
  • RachelSRoach1
    RachelSRoach1 Posts: 435 Member
    Options
    "male" pushups are more difficult thus have more health benefits.
  • lookpretty
    lookpretty Posts: 276 Member
    Options
    I personally would say quality exceeds quantity, if you are not strong enough to do "man pushups" with good posture do knee pushups until you are strong enough to do the others well
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    do as many regulars as you can, then drop when you start to fail. If you're hitting high numbers, you can add a weight plate to your back.

I agree with this, do as many as you can on toes, then drop to knees and continue until failure.
  • pika8202
    pika8202 Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    Why not do a few on your toes, and then a few more on your knees?
  • sophjakesmom
    sophjakesmom Posts: 904 Member
    Options
    pay close attention to form. A bad pushup can really hurt your shoulders. keep your hands in the plain of your shoulders and do as many as you can on your toes. Then move to your knees.
  • Kywesley
    Kywesley Posts: 7 Member
    Options