Soreness and full body vs split routine

Options
4nts
4nts Posts: 14 Member
Hi!

Through a lot of online research, I found that it's probably best for me to lift 3x a week, for a full body routine.
I'm a noob and started lifting back in April, with a upper body/lower body/full body routine, I switched to full body about 1-2 months ago.

My workout looks something like this
8-10 DB press
8-10 weighted squat
8-10 weighted lunges
8-10 push-ups
8-10 lat pull down
8-10 bent over DB row
8-10 rom deadlift

repeat x3

The problem is, I often am not recovered enough (especially hamstrings!) by the time the next schedule workout comes.

Should I switch to a body part split? I don't think I would maintain more than 3x week lifting. I'm trying to add cardio on my off days as my main goal right now is fat loss.

Or should I keep doing a full body but maybe only do deadlifts/pushups once my hamstrings/chest isn't hurting anymore, so maybe only one out of 2 workouts?

Should I push through the pain? I heard as long as I have DOMS my muscles have not recovered and I shouldn't exercise them too much.

Thanks!!

Replies

• 4nts
    Options
    why not follow an actual programme?

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10332083/which-lifting-program-is-the-best-for-you/p1

i have done a few full body programmes, none of them did squats, lunges and deads in the same workout

I will have a look :)
  • 4nts
    Options
    I think I will try Stronglifts 5x5 beginning today and see how it goes :smiley:
  • mrslynda
    mrslynda Posts: 50 Member
    Options