Slimming World newbie!

Anyone have any tips for a slimming world newbie? Just started last night and went to the group.
Finding everything I usually eat (and I consider my diet healthy, workout 4 times a week) is a syn! Like soup, smoothies, greek yogurt! I'm changing quite a lot and opting for weetabix, packed salads and lots of fruit for snacking and anything from the sw recipes for tea.

I'm not one to lose weight fast, so I'm doubtful I'll lose a lot...

Replies

• ash1864
    ash1864 Posts: 24 Member
    My greatest tip is to stop it. You're at a free website that has all the tools you need to lose weight, safely, effectively and comfortably. Notice I didn't say fast? That's right, weightloss is a slow process, and it takes patience and changes in habits and attitudes.

Well - I have lost weight previously (around 2 and a half stone) just on my own and healthy eating & exercise. I've been doing that since 2014 and feel much better for it. But for the last year my weight has completely plateaued, even though I've cut down, done more exercise. My principles I've used before to lose weight are now not working.

So that's why I'm trying something new to see if I can change the way I eat to see if a change will happen. If it doesn't work then fine! I'm not a faddy diet person, I'm reasonably well educated on nutrition and I don't fully agree with everything Slimming World preaches. I don't want to lose weight fast - however slimming world seems to think I may lose 7lbs in my first week, but knowing my body and how I lose weight that probably won't happen for me.
  • kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    As you get lighter, you can't lose as fast, because your body doesn't have enough accessible fat to get the same calorie deficit from.
  • bunnyluv19
    bunnyluv19 Posts: 103 Member
    If you’ve plateaued for a year, you’re maintaining your weight-which is a great accomplishment! Just create a 250 calorie daily deficit and eat the food you enjoy.