How to figure out the amount of calories in unlabelled food ?

Options
I'm new to the whole calorie counting thing and I have no idea how to figure out how many calories are in my food. For packaged food from the supermarket it's on the packaging so that's fine, but what about the sandwich I just bought at a sandwich shop ? They don't list the calories, besides I doubt the number of calories is exactly the same each time they make a sandwich.

How do I figure out the exact amount of calories in unlabelled food ? Is there some way to measure it ?

Replies

• raspberriliana
    raspberriliana Posts: 61 Member
    Options
    There are two different approaches to this, I believe:
    1. You can stop eating unlabelled food, but that's a bit extreme and can lead to an unhealthy relationship with food. Some people choose to do that though, in order to be 100% sure of their intake.
    2. You can try to guesstimate. If you can see the weight of the whole sandwich written somewhere, that'd be useful. Or you can weigh it at home and try to log things manually - x grams of bread, y grams of the different toppings you got.
    It's tricky and you can never be certain if your log is correct, but my advice is: overestimating is usually a better idea than underestimating.
  • fruitily
    fruitily Posts: 75 Member
    Options
    Eyeball, or search up similar food items, and then add 25% more calories than you think is in it.
  • ExistingFish
    ExistingFish Posts: 1,259 Member
    Options
    What others have said, estimate or find something similar from a chain that has their nutrition posted. Most chains have their nutrition posted, we don't have too many local non-chains here, so I haven't had a problem.
  • Redordeadhead
    Redordeadhead Posts: 1,188 Member
    Options
    aaargh2437 wrote: »
    we don't have too many local non-chains here, so I haven't had a problem.