What small changes have you made?

Options
Hi everyone! I'm new to MFP and looking for suggestions. I'm not a very active person so I'm starting with small changes. So far I have reduced my morning cup of coffee from over 200 calories to a little over 100 by using less sugar (from 3tbs to 1tbs) and using skim milk instead of artificial creamer. I have cut out sweet tea and replaced with water (not easy for this southern gal). And I do squats while folding laundry. What are some of the small changes any of you have made that I might add to my list?

Replies

• kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    edited August 2018
    Options
    I have been adding and removing small and large changes since autumn 2013. These have stuck:
    Eating meals, and only at meals, except when an occasion calls for something else.
    Composing balanced meals.
    Eating a more varied diet.
    Only drinking water, black coffee and unsweetened tea between meals.
    Planning meals, alternating fruit and vegs, rotating dinners by weekly themes.
    Cooking more from scratch.
    Scheduling grocery shopping (and shopping guerrilla style).
    Weighing myself daily.
    Being more active on the daily.
  • VUA21
    VUA21 Posts: 2,072 Member
    Options
    Portion sizes. Decreasing the sizes of higher calorie stuff and increasing the portion sizes of lower calorie stuff.

Ordering off a low cal menu, or kids menu at restaurants. I still enjoy going out to eat with friends and family, I just eat a lot less than I used to.

The only thing I really gave up: granola. A few slivered almonds and a strawberry have a lot less calories for the same quantity and taste better on my yogurt and oatmeal.
  • Jackie9003
    Jackie9003 Posts: 1,105 Member
    Options
    I pre plan and pre log my food for the day but try to leave 100cals or so in case I fancy something, I have a few 100cal treats in my drawer at work for if I do.
  • robot_potato
    robot_potato Posts: 1,535 Member