Ditching the scales? How can I make this work

Hello,
After years and years of trying and failing I have decided I am ready to try again! With a difference. My scales broke a long time ago and I have decided not to replace them.

The scales do more harm to me than good and I have never tried to do this without them before.
I am going to log in and track every day and just try to complete my goals and go by what I feel and see in the mirror/clothes fitting.

Anyone have any other recommendations of how to track? Or see any possible bumps in the road without weighing? Any else not weighing in?

I know from previously experience how my body changes so I will be able to tell when it is working. I just don’t want the number on the scale setting me back.

Replies

• evileen99
    evileen99 Posts: 1,564 Member
    I don't own a scale; I go by how my clothes fit.
  • lilypond45
    lilypond45 Posts: 31 Member
    Yes I think the tape measure might also affect me in the same way. I have a very unhealthy attitude to “dieting”. If I track weight then I tend to fall off the wagon because I am just heading to a certain weight rather than focusing on changing my life. I feel that if I do it until I’m happy with how I look and feel, rather than what a scale says, then I might be more successful.

I find that the scales are a food trigger (whether good or bad results). So I just feel I would do better without them.

Perhaps I’m totally wrong but I just need a healthier mindset.
  • lilypond45
    lilypond45 Posts: 31 Member
    I also think it would be beneficial to assess monthly rather than weekly. Weekly goals are too short for me, I need to think about it in the long term. I think I might weigh in a month at my mums, if I feel that the result won’t affect me negatively!
  • Zoejohnse91
    Zoejohnse91 Posts: 227 Member