Keto diet

Options
Starting Keto for prediabetic any advice?

Replies

• dmcnur
    dmcnur Posts: 157 Member
    Options
    Keep it simple, log everything, keep to <20g net carbs a day and avoid cheat meals/days especially while becoming fat adapted. Cheating can trigger cravings for sugary or carb filled foods. Drink plenty of water and increase your salt intake and watch your electrolytes as your kidneys will be working more.

I was insulin resistant, pre-diabetic, hypertensive, suffered from reflux, weighed 92.8kg and was generally very unhealthy. I am now off all medication, no longer showing insulin resistance, no reflux and as of today have been maintaining my weight at 57.5-58.5kg. My profile picture shows before and after.
  • NeeceeMT
    NeeceeMT Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Hi. I have been doing Keto for about 6 months. My A1C was 6.2% when I started. I went in for blood work again about a month ago, and I am now at 5.2% and in the normal range. I feel a thousand times better. My daily goal is 20 total carbs a day. I do not eat any sugar and very limited amounts of berries only. I eat fatty meat, cheese, eggs, heavy whipping cream, half and half, limited amounts of vegetables, nuts and fat bombs sometimes and make some keto desserts. Good luck!
  • HeyJulya
    HeyJulya Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    My advice: