Crunching knee noise.

Options
Hey morning people :) ok, my right knee started to make this weird crunchy noise every time I bend it, no pain at all. But the noise makes me nervous, I have been doing HIIT workouts lately that have lots of jumping hight impact, I thought my knee noise have to do with it😓 the situation right now is that I want to do my HIIT workout but I dont know if I should🙂 can you give me some advice on this, should I workout ?

Replies

• mamasita76028
    mamasita76028 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    From someone with 2 fake knees...take care of them NOW! I am only 57 and wish I would have taken care years ago! I would suggest giving your knees a rest for a week or 2 and then see how they do.
  • Blackwatch2000
    Blackwatch2000 Posts: 20 Member
    Options
    Mine started crunching after I started lifting. Doctor said not to worry since there was not any pain. Seems to be pretty common.
  • jogetsgains
    jogetsgains Posts: 341 Member
    Options
    Mine stopped crunching after I started foam rolling and seriously stretching my thighs and calves. If you are doing hiit and quit then take the extra 30 mins to seriously stretch and see if that helps.
    My husband's knee was crunching and he had to have surgery, so still seeing a sports doc is probably best.
  • GiddyupTim
    GiddyupTim Posts: 2,819 Member
    Options
    I'm with blackwatch and jogetsgains.
    Generally, crepitus without any discomfort is nothing to worry about and gets better.
    But, yeah, probably see a professional.
    Good luck.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    My guess is that it is fluid on your knee (a sign of inflammation) rather than crepitus unless you have a pre-existing injury. Does you knee feel warm or creak when you press it?

In either case if it's new and follows starting a new or more intense form of exercise then it's time to either get it checked out by a physio or take a break from the workouts that caused it.