Pole Dancing 2x a week - what else to do?

Options
Erachma
Erachma Posts: 17 Member
Hey guys!
I've been pole dancing twice a week and want some tips on other stuff to do.
I have my own pole home (which was the best purchase in like forever <3 - although I'm not good at it I'm already a pole preacher hahaha), but of course I'm afraid of doing any advanced move home - still fear to break my neck or something like that.
The thing is: since I pole for 2h/week, what can I do at home that won't negatively affect my performance in class?

Replies

• MostlyWater
    MostlyWater Posts: 4,294 Member
    Options
    Pole is a core workout. You need weights and cardio.

Pole is like barre, pilates, yoga. Add jump rope, spin or Zumba for cardio and weight lifting. Or HIIT intervals which incorporate weights and cardio.
  • mbaker566
    mbaker566 Posts: 11,233 Member
    Options
    i might consider adding yoga for added flexibility and strength. i find it compliments well. some form of cardio might be good too since it will help you "last" in class.
  • MostlyWater
    Options
    Yoga would be overkill.
  • julie_broadhead
    julie_broadhead Posts: 347 Member
    Options
    What are your weaknesses in Pole Class?
  • chunkytfg
    chunkytfg Posts: 339 Member
    Options
    What do you want to do? Answer and then do that.
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    Do want stuff to do on the pole or off it?
  • Davidsdottir
    Davidsdottir Posts: 1,285 Member
    Options
    1. Unmount pole
    2. Put pole horizontally on back
    3. Squat aforementioned pole 3x a week
    4. Progressively add 5-10 pounds every session

Love this!
  • Erachma
    Options
    What are your weaknesses in Pole Class?

I am absurdly slippery; I think I lack everything, but I guess the main problem is stamina.
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    What do you fancy doing? Zumba, insanity, strength training, c25k, yoga, whatever...

• mbaker566