What should I have used for this?

Options
mtdb8
mtdb8 Posts: 65 Member
So I tried to make my own peach yogurt today with .5 cup of unflavored greek yogurt and 4 cups of frozen peaches. That was the recipe. The problem is my blender couldn't handle it. Not enough liquid maybe? What kind of blender should I be using? Or is there some other trick I'm missing?

Replies

• Kathryn247
    Kathryn247 Posts: 570 Member
    Options
    Wow, yeah, that's way too much solid peach for the small amount of yogurt. If you let the peaches thaw a bit, or entirely, it should blend. Was that really the amounts they told you? That would be mostly peaches with a tiny bit of yogurt.
  • mtdb8
    Options
    Kathryn247 wrote: »
    Wow, yeah, that's way too much solid peach for the small amount of yogurt. If you let the peaches thaw a bit, or entirely, it should blend. Was that really the amounts they told you? That would be mostly peaches with a tiny bit of yogurt.

You're right, but I'm still new at this. What should the proportions be with frozen peaches?
  • aokoye
    aokoye Posts: 3,495 Member
    Options
    Was the recipe for peach yogurt of peach frozen yogurt? A Vitamix could probably handle that but the consistency would not be that of yogurt because of the frozen peaches. That'd be an impossibly thick smoothie/sorbet texture. Both because of them being frozen and the sheer quantity. Also that ratio is more like peaches with a little bit of yogurt as opposed to yogurt with peaches - it's an 8:1 ratio.

You would very likely have better luck with a food processor than a blender but you might still have some issues with the frozen peaches. You could also cut said frozen peach pieces in half which would make it easier on the blender/food processor.
  • Kathryn247
    Kathryn247 Posts: 570 Member
    Options
    mtdb8 wrote: »
    Kathryn247 wrote: »

You're right, but I'm still new at this. What should the proportions be with frozen peaches?