Organic lifestyle??

Options
Hi y’all!
I am looking start to eat organic food & less meat. Does anyone have any tips on where to shop and finding discounts? (I am a college student- so also maintaining this with a busy schedule)
I have a Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s near me if that helps :)
Thanks!!!

Replies

• L1zardQueen
    L1zardQueen Posts: 8,754 Member
    Options
    Shop the ads and share bulk purchases with fellow students.

Whole chicken is always cheaper then the cut up bird. The leftover chicken carcass makes a great soup.

Save the peelings and ends you chop off the vegetable( because organic is expensive) collect them in a bag and store in the freezer. When it comes time to make the chicken soup you will have the vegetables ready to go.
  • lemurcat2
    lemurcat2 Posts: 7,885 Member
    Options
    Depends on your reasons for eating organic. My personal preference is to eat as locally as possible and so I prioritize local farms (which in season can be less expensive if you have access, but won't be everywhere), and don't actually care about organic except that many of the local farms I like also are organic (as it's an overlapping niche market). So for local in general, some will be certified organic, some won't (some don't want to bother going through the certification, many of course simply are not organic). But for things like taste and supporting something other than huge agri-business, this is what I want. If it's about avoiding the non organically-certified pesticides, then you may not care about any other things, and then the cheapest will be looking for specials -- if you have amazon prime you may want to check out WF deals, and TJ's is often cheaper (no clue about their produce, since I rarely buy produce there). They also have weekly specials and coupons which you can find by looking at your location online.